Dinesh leads Sri Lankan contingent for World Para Athletic Championships | Daily News


Dinesh leads Sri Lankan contingent for World Para Athletic Championships

Dinesh Herath
Dinesh Herath

Paralympic bronze medalist Dinesh Priyantha Herath will lead the Sri Lankan contingent for the 9th World Para AthleticChampionship which is scheduled to be held from November 7 to 15 in Dubai. The Sri Lankan team comprising nine Para athletes left yesterday to take part in this major event which will be very important for them to qualify for next year’s Paralympics to be held in Tokyo, Japan.

Dinesh Priyantha Herath who won the bronze at the last Rio Paralympics in 2016 once again will take part in the F- 46 Javelin Throw while Asian double gold medallist Amila Prasan who won both 100m and 200m in T-42 category in Jakarta is another strong contender of the Sri Lanka team . At the last Para Asian Games held in Jakarta Sri Lanka won 14 medals and this time too they are likely to bring more honour to the country with medals .

The Sri Lankan Paralympic Committee headed by Major General Rajitha Ampemohotti has always made very good selections for this type of International events and that is the reason for the success of the Para. Athletes.

They had good preparation before this meet. Sri Lanka has already earned two bronze medals Pradeep Sanjaya 400m bronze at London Paralympics in 2012 and at the2016 Rio Paralympics Dinesh Priynatha won a bronze in the Javelin Throw.

Athletes from 120 countries are expected to take part in this World Para Athletic Championships and it is going to be a keen tussle. With the Tokyo 2020 Paralympic Games coming up, more than 1,500 Para athletes are heading to Dubai for the world championships which is their last chance to gain a spot in one of the biggest sporting events around the world.

Sri Lankan Airline has come forward as the Official Travel partner for Sri Lankan Para contingent to World Para Athletics Championship with Dialog Axiata being the official sponsor of NPC

Sri Lankan Contingent for the World Para Athletic Championship

Dinesh Herath (Team Capt – F46. – Javelin), Amila Prasan(T 42 – 100m),Indika Chuladasa- (T42. – 100m) Chaminda Hettiarachchi.(F63/F44 – Javelin), Samitha Dulan ( F44. – Javelin)

Palitha Bandara( F42 – Shot Put),Nuwan Indika( TF44. – Long jump/100m), Kumudu Priyanka( -TF47 – 100m Long Jump),Buddika Indrapala( Long Jump) Maj Gen Rajitha Ampemohotti. – President NPC, Lt Col Deepal Herath -(Team Manager), Maj MMM Rizvi.( Team Doctor), Pradeep Nishantha( Coach),Harijan Rathnayake. (Coach),S Janka Karunarathne (Coach)

Add new comment