Other election monitors here on own accord | Daily News


South Asian election monitors invited – EC

Other election monitors here on own accord

The Election Commission has invited election monitors from the other seven SAARC member states, and they are scheduled to arrive in the country a week before the Presidential polls, Elections Director-General Saman Sri Ratnayake confirmed yesterday.

Ratnayake told the Daily News that, in keeping with the practice in the past, election observers have been invited from the other seven south Asian countries. “They are likely to arrive for a study tour before coming with their own contingents, preferably a week before the elections.”

Along with the other SAARC states, namely, The Maldives, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Pakistan, Nepal, and Afghanistan, South Korea is also expected to send election observers.

Ratnayake said that, except for a large European Union delegation, the Election Commission had not invited any other foreign observers to monitor the polls this year. Referring to reports of the presence of observers presently in the country, he said that their reports or findings would have no impact on the ongoing work of the EC.

It is reported that the USA’s International Republican Institute (IRI) and the National Democratic Institute (NDI) international pre-election assessment delegation were in Sri Lanka from September 30th to October 4th. Meanwhile members of European Union Election Observation Mission have begun arriving to Colombo since October 5th. The EU team is not scheduled to leave Colombo until December 12. Their team includes media analysts, social media analysts, data analysts, legal, political, election analysts and press officers.

During the 2015 Parliamentary elections, the EC extended an invitation to South Asian observers. The Forum of the Election Management Bodies of South Asia (FEMBoSA), a regional grouping for cooperation among election management bodies of eight countries of South Asia, sent 30 international election observers to the country, at the invitation of the Election Commissioner.


South Asian election monitors invited – EC (14:56)

The Election Commission has invited South Asian Election monitors from seven south Asian Countries, who are scheduled to arrive in the country, a week before voters head for the Presidential polls, Election Commissioner Director General Saman Sri Ratnayake confirmed.

The South Asian countries include the Maldives, Bangladesh, Bhutan, India, Pakistan, Nepal, Afghanistan, and South Korea.

Visit Kapruka.com Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.


Add new comment