Three new MPs take seats | Daily News


Three new MPs take seats

Three new Members of Parliament took oaths before Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasiri yesterday (17).

Former Provincial Councillor Manoj Prasanga Hewagampalage Sirisena was appointed to the seat left vacant by the demise of Matara District MP Chandrasiri Gajadeera while H.M.D.B. Herath was sworn in to fill the seat of late Kurunegala District MP Salinda Dissanayake. Meanwhile, Shantha Bandara was sworn in as a National List MP from the UPFA for the second time. Bandara resigned last month apparently hoping to fill the seat left vacant after the demise of Salinda Dissanayake.

However, the Election Commission gazetted the name of UPFA member H.M.D.B. Herath to fill the vacant seat as Herath was next in line on the party’s candidate list.



Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment