Five top SLFP MPs face party rap | Daily News

Five top SLFP MPs face party rap

Five dissident SLFP national list MPs have been served with show-cause letters and have been given seven days to respond, Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) General Secretary MP Dayasiri Jayasekara said.

Jayasekara told the regular SLFP news briefing at the party headquarters yesterday that SLFP National list MPs S.B.Dissanayake, Dilan Perera, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardane, A.H.M.Fowzie and Vijith Vijayamuni Soysa who joined the SLPP and UNP have been served ‘show cause’ disciplinary action letters.

“The MPs have been given seven days to provide a written reply pertaining to the allegations mentioned in the show-cause letter and they can also make a request if they need more time to respond. But the entire procedure should be concluded within a month,” he stressed.

Jayasekara said the SLFP was a political party that maintains strict party discipline and such disciplining is what grassroots level supporters expected from them.

He further said that under the 19th Amendment to the Constitution, the party membership of an MP who joined another party can be suspended.

Inquired about the reason for not taking action against MPs including former President Mahinda Rajapaksa who joined the SLPP, UPFA General Secretary Mahinda Amaraweera said as a responsible political party, the SLFP always tried to maintain unity and good relations with all the left-wing politicians.

“Though they left the SLFP and formed another party, we are still trying to unify both parties. If we really wanted to take disciplinary action against them, as the General Secretary of the UPFA, I had the chance to do that. But I didn’t want to do so,”Amaraweera said.

He said disciplinary action will be taken against members of Pradeshiya Sabhas who had left the party. He said ongoing discussions between the SLFP and SLPP will continue and the SLFP was ready to work for the victory of a programme which makes a country victorious and not for the victory of a person.

SLFP media spokesman Weerakumara Dissanayake and Prof.Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa participated.


Add new comment