Drought in 17 districts - DMC | Daily News


Drought in 17 districts - DMC

Disaster Management Centre media spokesman Pradeep Kodippili said yesterday that 17 administrative districts in the country face a shortage of drinking water as a result of ongoing drought.

The Ratnapura, Kegalle, Polonnaruwa, Hambantota, Puttalam, Kurunegala, Vavuniya, Jaffna, Mannar, Kilinochchi, Mullaitivu, Trincomalee, Batticaloa, Matale, Anuradhapura, Ampara and Moneragala districts are those affected by a lack of adequate drinking water.

The DMC has deployed 500 water bowsers to meet the shortage. All District Secretaries have been provided with necessary funds in this regard, Kodippili said.

About 15,000 water tanks have been installed in these areas to store water supplied by the bowsers and Rs. 20 million has been allocated for this purpose by the government, he added.

Kurunegala District Disaster Management Centre Assistant Director Viraj Dissanayake said 4,399 families in the district face the problem of lack of drinking water.

Ambanpola, Maspotha, Galgamuwa, Udubaddawa, Kotawehera, Polpithigama, Kuliyapitiya, Weerambugedara, Giribawa, Mawathagama and Polgahawela Divisional Secretariat divisions in the district are affected. The government is taking steps to provide theses areas with drinking water by using water bowsers of the Pradeshiya Sabhas in the district.

Visit Kapruka.com Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment