AG seeks trial-at-bar for Welikada riot case | Daily News
Long overdue probe into 8 prisoner deaths in 2012:

AG seeks trial-at-bar for Welikada riot case

Attorney General Dappula De Livera yesterday requested Chief Justice Jayantha Jayasuriya to appoint a Trial-at-Bar comprising High Court judges to inquire into the Welikada Prison riot case. Eight inmates were killed in the riot incident that took place on November 09, 2012 and authorities concerned failed to conduct a proper investigation into the incident till 2017.

The Attorney General had received the extracts of the investigation at the end of year 2018. The Attorney General has made a written request to the Chief Justice to appoint a Trial-at-Bar after considering the seriousness of the case, the Daily News learns.

“Having regard to the nature of the offences; the circumstances relating to the commission of the offences; and, complex nature of the available evidence, such information is exhibited before the High Court of Colombo with the view of imploring Your Lordship that a Trial at Bar would meet the interests of justice,” the Attorney General’s letter said. “In terms of Section 450 (4) of the Code of Criminal Procedure Act No. 15 of 1979, as amended by Act No. 21 of 1988, information is exhibited to the High Court of Colombo in respect of the commission of offences, including those punishable under Section 355 and 296 of the Penal Code in respect of eight deceased persons within the premises of Welikada Prison,” the AG says in his letter addressed to the Chief Justice.

Coordinating officer for the AG, Thishara Jayaratne, disclosed that indictments would be served on the accused after receiving the Chief justice’s decision.

The accused in this case are Inspector of Police Moses Rangajeewa who was attached to the Police Narcotics Bureau, Superintendent of Magazine Prison Lamahewage Emil Ranjan and Indika Sampath who was attached to the Prisons intelligence unit.

The eight prison inmates who were killed in the incident are Kankanmalage Malinda Nilendra Pelpola alias Malan , Attapattu Sangakkara Nirmala Atapattu, Mohammed Wijaya rohana alias Gundu, Chinthamani Mohottige Thushara Chandana alias Kalu Thushara, Asarappulige Jothipala alias Ponna Kapila, Harshan Sri Manakeerthi Perera alias Manju sri , Raigamage Susantha Perera alias Mala Susantha, Devamullage Malith Sameera Perera alias Konda Amila.


Add new comment