CCC Maroons bag Nelson Mendis Trophy | Daily News

CCC Maroons bag Nelson Mendis Trophy

CCC Maroons bagged the under-14 Nelson Mendis Trophy when they beat Madampe CA by six wickets in the final at the CCC ground on Wednesday.

Batting first, Madampe CA lads were skittled out for 145 runs in 32.1 overs. Randul Samarahewa top scored with 54 runs.

Linal Subasinghe in a superb bowling spell captured 4/29 while Dinura Wanigasekara and Nimuthu Gunawardane took two wickets each.

In reply, CCC School of Cricket Maroons reached the victory target in 34.2 overs with six wickets intact. Nimuthu Gunawardane scored 54 not out while Sasindu Sayakkara (24 runs) and Bhashana de Silva (22 runs) made good contributions with the bat.

Meanwhile, in the third-place fight, Swinger CA registered an easy eight-wicket win over Mahara CA at the CCC grounds.

Taking the first lease of the bat, Mahara CA scored 162/9 in their allotted 45 overs. Denura Demansith and Thathsara Eshan scored 43 runs and 37 runs respectively. Nadun Pulukuttiarachchi (2/13), Brendon Fernando (2/37) bowled best for Swinger CA.

In reply Swinger, CA reached the winning target in just 15 overs with eight wickets to spare. Kavin Fernando top scored with 57 runs and Maleesha Fernando added 51 runs.


Add new comment