CCC Maroons take on Madampa CA in final today | Daily News
Nelson Mendis Trophy under-14 inter-academy cricket:

CCC Maroons take on Madampa CA in final today

CCC School of Cricket Maroons and Madampa CA will battle in the ongoing Nelson Mendis Trophy under-14 inter-academy cricket tournament finals today at the CCC grounds.

CCC Maroons beat Swinger CA by 36 runs while Madampa CA defeated Mahara CA by seven wickets in yesterday’s semifinals.

Batting first in the first semifinal, Mahara CA were bowled out for 187 runs in 44.1 overs. Isera Ayupala and Chathura Kavishka scored 38 and 24 runs respectively.

In contrast, Madampa CA reached the victory target scoring 191/3 in 25.1 overs with seven wickets intact. Malsha Tharupathi top scored with unbeaten 75 runs while Mithila Achintha added 52 n.o.,

Brief scores:

Mahara CA 187 in 44.1 overs (Isera Ayupala 38, Chathura Kavishka 24, Denura Demansith 20, Mithila Achintha 2/25, Thavindu de Silva 2/30, Malsha Tharupathi 2/37)

Madampa CA 191/3 in 25.1 overs (Randula Samarahewa 31, Malsha Tharuoathi 75n.o.,Mithila Achintha 52n.o.,

The second semifinal saw CCC maroons piling up 279 in 45 overs with Sasindu Sayakkara making the top score of 70 runs against Swinger CA. Sahan Dabare added 68 runs and Nimuthu Gunawardane scored 40 runs. Shane Wijesinghe was the pick of the bowlers who captured 4/33.

Chasing a challenging victory target of 280, Swinger CA team was skittled out for 243 runs in 43.1 overs. Shane Wijesinghe fought a solitary battle and scored a well deserve century (110 runs). Linal Subasinghe bowled best for CCC Maroons and took 4/48.

Brief scores:

CCC Maroons 279 in 45 overs (Sasindu Sayakkara 70, Sahan Dabare 68, Nimuthu Gunawardane 40, Dinura Wanigasekara 33, Bhashana de Silva 30, Shane Wijesinghe 4/33, Muditha Dissanayake 2/40)

Swinger CA 243 in 43.1 overs (Shane Wijesinghe 110, Muditha Dissanayaka 30, Linal Subasinghe 4/48, Vishwa Weerasinghe 2/47, Dinura Wanigasekara 2/41)

George Steuart Health Senior Managing Director Eranjith Ranasinghe is the chief guest at the final while former Test cap Chaminda Vaas is the chief guest at the award ceremony.


Add new comment