Presidential Media Awards on April 10 | Daily News

Presidential Media Awards on April 10

The Presidential Media Awards to evaluate the mission carried out by journalists and their contribution to the field for establishing an excellent media culture in the country will be held on April 10 at BMICH under the patronage of President Maithripala Sirisena and Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe.

The awards ceremony is aimed at evaluating skills, talents and special capabilities of journalists towards ushering in a media culture with social responsibility.

It is also aimed at encouraging the media in building up a well-informed civil society and to provide state sponsorship for journalists through evaluation of their performance covering the entire mass media field. The identification and evaluation of talents, skills and the core competencies of journalists by providing guidance and motivation to felicitate professional journalists will be an opportunity for young and energetic journalists to excel in the mass media field.

Applications submitted for awards should be a production of their own preferably sent through heads of the institution, but it is also possible to submit them directly with the senders’ own certification.

Only the creative work done in between January 1, 2017 and December 12, 2017 were considered for awards. The main criteria considered to be qualified for the awards were that the creative work should be their own and the relevant production must have been prepared as suitable to Sri Lankan viewers/listeners. No foreign creations were considered.

The Main committee was presented with nomination recommended for awarding through sub committees consisted of professionally qualified senior journalists appointed by the Ministry with the recommendations of media heads.

Following the advertisements published in the media on July 13, 2018, 1,674 nominations were submitted within the specified period. It is expected to award to each field from all three languages.

The numbers of awards to be given away are 51 covering all categories inclusive of the four lifetime awards.

In addition to selecting the award winners for their creations, the panel of judges has selected four distinguished media personnel for the lifetime award. They are Dr. Edwin Ariyadasa in the field of Print Media, Karunarathna Amarasinghe in the field of Radio, Lucien Bulathsinhala in the field of Television Media and Lakshman Jayawardene in the field of Web Media.

The Mass Media Ministry has organised the awards ceremony under the direction of Minister Ruwn Wijewardene and the supervision of the Mass Media Ministry Secretary Sunil Samaraweera.


Add new comment