Battle of the Gold’s Rahula v Sumangala from today | Daily News


Battle of the Gold’s Rahula v Sumangala from today

Sri Rahula College squad cricket team
Sri Rahula College squad cricket team
The much awaited cricket encounter between Wariyapola Sri Sumangala (St. Paul’s) College and Sri Rahula College, which is called the “Battle of the Gold’s” will take place for the 21st time commencing today at Pallekelle Stadium. This game was not played for a few years over an internal matter. These are two of the oldest schools in Kandy.

Cricket is one of the major sports at Kandy’s Wariyapola Sri Sumangala (St. Paul’s) College. The school has a long history which is 140 years old. It was originated under the name St. Paul’s College as a junior school of Trinity College, Kandy. After laying the first brick on 8 February in 1879, the new school was started as St. Paul’s English School. This was largely due to the efforts of former Sri Lanka cricketer and Kandy Municipal Council Commissioner the late D.H. de Silva. He coached them to play cricket. Special mention must be made of D.D.T. Alwis who also coached the school. The present principal D.M.S.D Dissanayke gives big support to the school.

Sri Rahula College Katugastota is also one of the oldest cricket playing schools, having started in the 1890’s but gave it up a few years later. They were more involved with football, athletics and hockey. However, in the 1970’s they came back to cricket. A big hand should go to Aubrey Kuruppu, who did his best as coach. Aubrey is a former S. Thomas’ College, Combined Schools, University of Peradeniya, Saracens SC, Central Province and Sri Lanka President’s XI cricketer. He trained many cricketers to come up in the game, unfortunately though, when they came up to under 17 level they were snatched up by other schools. The preset principal is S.M.C Weerakoon who supports the game well.


Sri Rahula College: Madushan Paranavithana (captain), Krishantha Dilshan (vice captain), Sandaruwan Wijeratne, Eranda Navoda Kumaratunga, Chamath Kaushalay, Sahan Millinda, Dilshan Armbagedera, Tharindu Aloka, Janith Harsaranaga Maitipe, Kushan Hashendra Senarath, Sayuru Prabash Ranatunga, Thilanka Dasunpriya, Kalana Ekanayake, Akash Gardiyawansam, Vichintha Heshan, Achintha Shanuka, Coach - Madushanka Pathum Damakage, MIC - Janaka Amarasinghe.

Sri Sumangala College: Isuru Kulatunga (captain), Vihanga Weeratunga (vice captain), Lahiru Bandara, Avishka Pushpakumara, Chathura Jayaratne, Jaliya Sasanka, Dinusha Maddage, Priyantha Nettige, Tharindu Milan, Miraj Rajapakse, Shemel Rajapakse, Shemel Nerdaya, Tharusha Supun, Athif Mohamed, Malintha Bandara, Umega Silva, Chamara Bandara, Thenuka Ekanayake, Theneera Akalanka, H.M. Rikas - coach, T.M.S. Ekanyake – MIC.

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment