Sri Sumangala-Moratu Vidyalaya clash for 67th time | Daily News


Sri Sumangala-Moratu Vidyalaya clash for 67th time

Moratu Vidyalaya First Eleven Cricket Pool. Seated L/R – Prasanna Dissanayake (Coach), Nishan Madushka (Captain), Hemasiri Ataudage (Principal), Nadith Mishendra (Vice Captain), Rasika Chaminda (Master in Charge of Cricket) Middle Row Standing L/R – Chamalka Pushopakumara, Eran Hansamal, Dilshan Dulakshana, Madushan Dilakshana, Rashan Kavishka, Janitha Sewmith, Niraj Kavishka, Vishwa Didulana, Awantha Sulakshana.   Back Row Standing L/R – Damith Pushpakumara, Maheeth Methdinu, Hashen Adithya, Chathura Bhagya, Madura Gimhana, Venura Nipun, Sukitha Devthilina, Kushan Nimantha 

Sri Sumangala College First Eleven Cricket Pool. Seated L/R – Deshan Fernando (Assistant Coach), Tharana de Silva, Janidu Inuwara (Captain), Dimuthu Deranagoda (Principal), Shanajith Fernando (Vice Captain), Priyankara Nandasena (Master in Charge of Cricket), Anuka Jayasinghe, Manoj Chanaka (Head Coach) Middle Row Standing L/R – Charuka Peiris, Heshan Kavinda, Prabash Jayasekera, Namina Danidu, Buddina Sri Shenal, Imalka Fernando, Vishwa Lahiru, Kavindu Gayathra. Back Row Standing L/R – Mihiranga Fernando, Ashen Zoysa, Gayasha Peiris, Chamod Alwis, Charuka Jayathilake, Shalana Gamage, Imeth Gampola, Poorna Prabath, Isanka Heshan, Sasindu de Silva. (Pictures by Dilwin Mendis Moratuwa Sports Special Correspondent)  

The 67th Big Match between Sri Sumangala College, Panadura and Moratu Vidyalaya will be worked off on 22nd and 23rd of March 2019 at De Soysa Stadium, Moratuwa and the Limited Over Match will be played on the same venue on 24th March 2019. So far 66 matches have been played between these two schools and Sumangalians are leading with 8 victories and Vidyalians 7.

This year Sumangalians are captained by fourth year coloursman and an all rounder Janidu Inuwara and his deputy will be Shanajith Fernando. Janidu who has passed 850 run mark this season opens bowling with Poorna Prabath and batting will be opened by Sasindu de Silva and Mihiranga Fernando. Their strike bowler is left arm leg spinner Anuka Jayasinghe who is the leading wicket taker of the side with 75 wickets. During this season Panadura lads have played 12 matches and won 5. According to the statistics both teams are evenly balanced and the spectators can witness good cricket all three days. The Principal Dimuthu Deranagoda who is a Cambrian is a cricket lover and he has extended his fullest support and encouragement to keep this noble game alive at school and the Master In charge of Cricket Priyankara Nandasena too is extending his help and support at all times.


This year Vidyalians will be captained by the glove man of the side former Sri Lanka under 19 player Nishan Madushka and his vice captain will be Nadith Mishendra. Nishan has so far scored 1386 runs in 14 matches and 20 innings with 2 not outs. He has scored 6 centuries with an unbeaten 172 runs against Cambrians. Their bowling attack will be with Niraj Kavishka and Nadith Mishendra while the spin attack will be sphere headed by Eran Hansamal who has claimed 71 wickets for the season and Vishwa Didulana and Rashan Kavishka. This season Vidyaliyans played 14 matches and won four and the rest were drawn. The highest run getter for vidyalians is in 1979 by Ranjith Fernando with 129 and for Sumangalians in 1989 by Roshan Wimalasena who scored 150 runs. In 1980 Manjula Peiris claimed 8 for 53 for Vidyalians while Ravin Wickremaratne captured 9 for 39 in 1981. The Principal of Moratu Vidyalaya Hemasiri Ataudage and Master in Charge of Cricket Rasika Chaminda are extending their fullest support and encouragement for cricket in the school.


Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.


Add new comment