St. Servatius looking forward to end 47-year hoodoo | Daily News



St. Servatius looking forward to end 47-year hoodoo

ST THOMAS COLLEGE TEAM. Front row from left – Sachira Rashmika, Kavindu Ridmal, Charith Palliyage (Coach), Mihisal Amoda (Captain), W B Piyathissa (Principal), Gishanthika Jayaweera (Vice Captin), W M A D Lakmal (MIC), Ruwani Rubasinghe (POG), Hirantha Lakshan. Middle row from left – Chamika Ranasinghe, Voshitha Athsara, Hasaru de Silva, Harindu Jayasekera, Enuka Budvin, Dumindu Hansaka, Hirusha Jeewadith, Sineth Sithara, Nimanthaka Bhashana. Back row from left – Sathira Theekshana, Isuru Wihanga, Nipun Ruchira, Ashen Shawinda, Janaka Pawan, Sanchitha Ranasinghe, Sanjaya Maduranga

ST SERVATIUS COLLEGE TEAM. Front row from left – A M Priyantha (Junior Coach), Pasindu Manupriya, Roshan Priyankara (MIC), Charith Harshana Dayaratne (Captain), Mahesh K Hewa (Principal), Shashika Dulshan (Vice Captain), T D Munasinghe (coach), Kesara Nuwantha, G H Nayanada deSilva (Assistant Principal - Sports). Middle row from left – Chirath Nethsara, Rithik Anuradha, Pushpitha Dilshan, Pasan Nethsara, Ruvinda Rochana, Matheesha Madushan, Chethaka Denuwan, Janidu Jayasvin, Shanaka Didulantha, Hirun Anjana, Nipun Rangeeth, Risira Lakwin, Waruna Gamage.Back row from left - Chihan Kalindu, Diniru Shanuska, Navin Sahith, Dinura Dilmin. Pictures by Priyan de Silva

St Servatius College led by Charith Harshana will take the field with the hopes of ending the 47 year hoodoo when they are hosted in the 119th edition of the Battle of the Blues by St Thomas College Matara at the Uyanwatte Stadium on the 22nd, 23rd and 24th of March.

Much will depend on the Uyanwatte turf and the toss.The strips at Uyanwatte12 of them) have been so unpredictable that strong division one teams have been bowled out for two figure scores and a game where more than 30 wickets have fallen in a day

The Big Match in Matara is the third oldest in the island and is said to have been played continuously since 1900. The encounter has been known as the Battle of Ruhuna and Battle of Nilwala. The last time the Servatians won was in 1971 under the captaincy of Nimal Munaweera while the Thomians led by Tharaka Dushantha won in 2007.

The Servatians have fared better than their rivals in the under 19 division one cricket tournament this season. Playing in group C they have accumulated 108 points with outright wins over St Aloysius and St Mary’s Kegalle and losing outright to St Sebastians Moratuwa to end in third spot. The Servatians were unable to enter the pre-quarter final round losing to Thurstan. They also registered wins in the traditional games with Mari Stella, Gurukula and Rahula.

The Thomian’s playing in group D of the tournament were unable to register a single win and lost outright to the group leaders Trinity, Richmond and Thurstan and were placed 8th with 61.68 points. They can boast of winning the traditional encounters with Devapathiraja, St Marys’ Kegalle and Sri Devananda.

In the past few decades the Thomians have been up against much stronger star-studded Servatian outfits but have played grittily to draw the three day encounters. It is recalled that not very long ago the gritty Thomians batted for almost five sessionS to hold St Servatius to a draw. The present team proved their staying power in the game against Ananda a few weeks ago and are even capable of turning the game in their favoUr.

The Servatians are led by 3rd year player Charith Harshana Dayaratne who has scored 230 runs and captured 18 wickets this season.

Shahsika Dulshan is the vice-captain of the team. He was a member of the Sri Lanka under 19 team and was named the best bowler of the series against the visiting under 19 team and the youth Asia Cup. Shashika has 512 runs and 60 wickets to his credit this season.

Third year player Keshara Nuwantha is an all rounder. He has scored 460 runs and captured 44 wickets this season. Pasindu Manupriya is a third year player with 390 runs and 21 wickets to his credit.

Pushpika Dilshan also a third year player opens the batting for the Servatians. He has scored 480 runs this season. Ruvinda Rochana is an all rounder and a third yer player. Ruvinda has scored 230 runs and captured ten wickets this season.

Left hand batsman Chethaka Denuwan is the highest run getter of the Servatius team. He has scored 845 runs including two centuries and 50 wickets against his name.

Risira Lakwin is the wicket keeper batsman of the Servatian team. He has scored 770 runs this season.

Chihan Kalindu is capable of standing behind the stumps as well. Chihan kept wickets for the Sri Lanka under 19 team against the touring Australian under 19 team and figured in five dismissals. Chihan has scored 230 runs this season.

Navin Sahith is a first year player and has scored 210 runs and captured 21 wickets.

Matheesha Madushan is a first year player who shares the new ball. He has captured 20 wickets this season. Shanaka Didulantha has scored 150 runs and has figured in over a dozen dismissals and is an asset to the team.

Freshers Pasan Sathsara, Rithik Anuradha, Janidu, Hirun Anjana, Nipun Rangith, Waruna Gamage, Dinura, and Dinura Dilmin strengthen the Servatian team at the 119th encounter.

St Thomas is led by 4th year player Mihisal Amoda. He is a hard hitting right hand batsman who has scored over 750 runs including a century and four half centuries. He bowls right arm off spin and has figured in 25 dismisals.

All round player Gishanthika Jayaweera is the vice captain of the Thomian team. Gishanthika is a right hand batsman and bowls right arm off spin. He has scored over 600 runs including a century and two half centuries and captured 32 wickets this season. Gishanthika is a 3rd year player.

Kavindu Ridmal is an all-round player who opens the bowling for the Thomians. He bowls right arm pace and has captured 47 wickets this season. Kavindu is a right hand batsman with over 300 runs to his credit. Hirantha Lakshan is a third year player and an all rounder.

Sachira Rashmika is the Thomians highest wicket taker this season. Sachira bowls right arm off spin and has claimed 70 wickets and is set to add more to his tally at this encounter. He is a safe batsman and an excellent fielder.

Sineth Sithara is the teams left arm leg spin bowler with 52 wickets to his credit. He is a left hand batsman. Nipun Ruchira is a second year player and keeps wickets for the Thomians. Nipun has claimed 38 victims this season. He is a middle order right hand batsman scoring 380 runs with two half centuries.

Left hand batsman Harindu Jayasekera faces the new ball for the Thomians. Harindu has scored over 650 runs with five half tons. He is capable of bowling right arm off spin. Hirusha Jeewadith is a right hand batsman and a right arm pace bowler. Chamika Ranasinghe is an all round player who is a right hand batsman and a right arm leg spin bowler.

Sanchitha Ranasinghe is a right hand batsman capable of opening the batting for the Thomians. He has over 360 runs against his name. Woshitha Athsara is a left hand batsman and a right arm medium pace bowler. Woshitha has scored over 350 runs and figured in 17 dismissals.

Hasaru de Silva, Nimanthaka Bhashana, Sanjaya Maduranga, Sathira theekshana, Ashen Savinda, Janaka Pawan,enuka Budvin, Isuru Vihanga and Dumindu Hansaka are freshers who are capable of excelling with bat

or ball if the need arises. The Thomians are coached by Charith Palliyage and W M A D Lakmal is the Master in Charge.


Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment