Sebs- Cambrians evenly balanced | Daily News

69th Battle of the Golds at Moratuwa

Sebs- Cambrians evenly balanced

Prince of Wales’ College First Eleven Cricket Pool – 2018/19 Seated L/R Kalpa Fernando (Coach), Kaumal Nanayakkara, Vajira Abeywickrama (Prefect of Games), Suwaith Mendis (Captain), Kusala J. Fernando (Principal) Prince Fernando (Vice Captain), Kasun Devapriya (Master in Charge), Asela Perera (Assistant Coach). Middle Row Standing L/R Lakshan Perera, Pasindu Pathum, Vinuja Ranpul, Naduka Fernando, Tharuka Fernando, Devaka Peiris, Kavinda de Mel, Tharindu Amrasinghe. Back Row Standing L/R Rashen Fernando, Omesh Mendis, Dinura Fernando, Anupa Heshan, Thanuj Kavishan, Kunchana Perera. (Picture by Dilwin Mendis Moratuwa Sports Special Correspondent.

St. Sebastian’s College First Eleven Cricket Pool – 2018/19 Seated L/R Kalum Perera (Physician), Sarath Perera (Assistant Coach), Rev. Fr. Indunil Sampath (Prefect of Games), Nuwanidu Fernando (Captain), Rev. Fr. Ranjith Andradi (Rector), Tashika Perera (Vice Captain), Rev. Fr. Priyan Thisera, Frank Cooray (Master in Charge), Imal Boteju (Head Coach), Samith Fernando (Assistant Coach). Middle Row Sanding L/R Kalana Sandeep, Sukitha Prasannna, Headeera Fernando, Dunith Jayatunga, Dalara Fernando, Vinuja Ranasinghe, Nishitha Abliash, Praveen Cooray, Lahiru Fernando. Back Row Standing L/R Rumesh Mendis, Vihanga Mendis, Sasika Perera, Janishka Perera, Thadula Silva (Picture by Dilwin Mendis Moratuwa Sports Special Correspondent).  

The 69th Battle of the Golds between Prince of Wales College and St. Sebastian’s College will be played on 15th and 16 March 2019 at De Soysa Stadium Moratuwa and the 34th limited overs cricket match will be worked off on 17th March 2019 at the same venue. This year the hosts are Prince of Wales College.

This Year Prince of Wales college will be captained by all rounder and third year coloursman Suwath Mendis and his vice captain will be Prince Fernando. St. Sebastians are captained by Sri Lanka under 19 player and all rounder and a third year coloursman Nuwanidu Fernando and his vice captain will be Tashika Perera.

This encounter commenced in 1933 and there were two stoppages and if not this year will be the 87th Big Match out of the 68 encounters Cambrians have won six Sebs three and the rest were drawn. Cambrians recorded their last victory in 1977 while Sebs last win came in 2011. Cambrians have played 15 matches this season and they have fared well. Sebs went on to play 20 matches with the games allotted by the Sri Lanka Schools cricket Association for the Singer Trophy.

Dunith Jayatunge is the highest run getter for Sebs with 1080 runs and Vijuja Ranasinghe is having 65 scalps under his belt. Cambrian skipper Suwath Mendis has scored 650 runs while Kaumal Nanayakkara became the first playerr from the Division one to take 100 wickets.

So far he has claimed 103 wickets with his left arm leg spin. Also he set a record for Cambrians to be the highest wicket taker prior to the big match. Cambrians are coached by a former Cambrian Kalpa Fernando and former Nalandian Imal Boteju is coaching Sebastianites Both teams are evenly balanced and the cricket crazy Moratuwites could witness a good game of cricket for two days. 

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.


Add new comment