CC postpones naming permanent NPC Chairman | Daily News

CC postpones naming permanent NPC Chairman

The Constitutional Council (CC) has decided to postpone naming a permanent Chairman to the National Police Commission (NPC) and let its members decide on a protem Chairman at its each sitting to continue its functions.

National Police Commission Secretary Samansiri Dissanayake told the Daily News yesterday that the Commission met last with its member Prof. Siri Hettige as the protem Chairman. The Commission will meet again on Thursday.

The CC issuing a press release on Saturday said the term of P.H. Manatunga as the Chairman of the Police Commission ended on February 8, 2019. CC sources said the Secretary to the President has sent a letter to Manatunga clarifying that the initial appointment letter which said the appointment was valid till 2020 was a mistake.

“Manatunga was appointed a member of the Police Commission in October 2015 for a three-year term. He was appointed the Chairman in January, 2017 because he was a member. His term finished in 2018 but the Constitution provides for the old members to continue till new members are appointed. Hence, the same members served from October 2018 till new members were appointed in February, 2019. The CC has taken a decision that individuals over 80 years would not be appointed to Independent Commissions. Manatunga has reached 80 years and therefore he was not reappointed. Therefore, he ceases to be a member of the Commission now,” sources explained.

Commission member Thilak Kollure was appointed the Chairman of the Police Commission last month, but he declined to accept the post citing personal reasons. “The CC will decide on a new Chairman from among the new members of the Commission,” sources said. 


Add new comment