‘Gamperaliya begins in Panadura’ | Daily News

‘Gamperaliya begins in Panadura’

Panadura Urban Council (UC) Chairman Nandena Gunathileke said the development projects in the Panadura Electorate under the Gamperaliya programme were launched as planned by the Government.

He was addressing the monthly meeting of the Panadura UC at the council on March 7.

The Government had granted Rs. 2,000 lakhs for development projects in the Panadura Electorate under the Gamperaliya, he said. Lands Minister Jayantha Karunathilke had prepared deeds through the Panadura Divisional Secretariat for houses and state

lands and the ownership of the state lands and houses had not been given to the occupants for the last several years, he said.

The Chairman said he will provide facilities for the public and develop the electorate.

The chairman said a well-organised traffic plan will be introduced very soon to the Panadura Town to ease the heavy traffic in the area.

He said the Arthur V. Dias Mawatha is blocked by vegetable and fish vendors but Panadura Environmental Police neglects the issue.

The Panadura South Police never consults the UC to implement traffic laws in Panadura. The Urban Council must urge the Panadura South Traffic Police and introduce a well planned traffic plan to Panadura, the Chairman said.

The council adopted a resolution regarding the Panadura Town Waste Management in the monthly meeting.

UNP Councillor Kumudu Fernando said the Jayathileke Mawatha in Panadura is blocked daily with traffic and the people cannot even walk on the road.

He proposed that the council must take steps to stop traffic movements on the road during the daytime.

SLFP member Rajive Weeraman said huge posters are pasted on walls and every other place available and the town has become the most degraded area in the Western province.

He proposed that the Panadura UC must direct the Panadura South Police Environmental Police to introduce a traffic plan and ban raising banners and pasting posters in the town without a proper plan.

UNP Councillor Anura Wijepala, P. H. Wilman Fernando, Vice Chairman Janaka Soysa, Asoka Rathnamalee, SLFP Councillor Padma Costa, JVP Councillors W. Piyasena and Chandena Hettiarchci spoke. 


Add new comment