THIRTEEN MPs MUM IN 2018 | Daily News


Thirteen MPs had not spoken during Parliamentary debates last year, a statistical analysis by ‘’ website revealed.

The website said its claim was based on Parliament Hanzard reports from January to December last year.

Twelve out of the thirteen MPs belonged to the UPFA. UNP MP Wasantha Senanayake is also in the list. The 12 UPFA MPs are Dr. Sarath Amunugama, Indika Bandaranayake, Tharanath Basnayake, Lakshman Seneviratne, Lakshman Wasantha Perera, Angajan Ramanathan, Lohan Ratwatte, Siripala Gamlath, Janaka Bandara Thennakoon, Arumugam Thondaman, Thenuka Vidanagamage, and Dulip Wijesekara.

According to the findings of the ‘’ run by Verité Research, those MPs had not taken part in any Parliamentary debate throughout last year.

In another statistical analysis, the ‘’ underlined that 1,150 statements by MPs had been expunged from the Hanzard on the order of the Chair from September 15, 2015 to December 2018.

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.


Add new comment