New Ministers sworn-in | Daily News

New Ministers sworn-in

Two non Cabinet Ministers and a Deputy Minister were sworn-in before President Maithripala Sirisena at the President’s Office yesterday.

They are Ravindra Samaraweera–Non-Cabinet Minister of Labour and Trade Union Relations, V. Radhakrishnan – Non-Cabinet Minister for Development of Special Regions and Abdullah Maharoof - Deputy Minister of Ports and Shipping.

Daya Gamage took oaths as Minister of Social Empowerment as there is an amendment with regard to his portfolio.

Samaraweera has held a number of Cabinet portfolios including Minister of Wildlife and Sustainable Development Samaraweera who made his debut appearance to Parliament in 1989 is the UNP organizer of the Welimada electorate.

Velusami Radhakrishnan has also held a number of positions in the government and Central Provincial Council. He is an old boy of Holy Trinity College, Nuwara Eliya. 


New ministers sworn in

Ministers were sworn in before President Maithripala Sirisena this morning.

  • Minister of Special Area Development (Non-cabinet) - V. Radhakrishnan
  • Minister of Labour and Trade Union relations (Non-Cabinet) - Ravindra Samaraweera
  • Deputy Minister of Ports and Shipping - Abdullah Maharoof


Add new comment