The Constitutional Assembly to meet tomorrow | Daily News

The Constitutional Assembly to meet tomorrow

The Constitutional Assembly will meet at 10.30am tomorrow with Deputy Speaker Ananda Kumarasiri presiding.

The expert panel report, which contains draft constitutional proposals, will be tabled by Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe during the sitting. The views of political parties are also given in the report and the report will be available in all three languages.

Speaker Karu Jayasuriya is the Chairman of the Constitutional Assembly, but since he is not available in the country, the Deputy Speaker will chair the sittings.

Once the report is tabled, the floor will be opened for party leaders to express their views. The Constitutional Assembly will continue till 12.30pm and Parliament will commence at 1.30pm.

The Steering Committee headed by Prime Minister Wickremesinghe presented an interim report on September 21, 2017. It was then debated for five days. The 10-member expert panel handed over its report to the Steering Committee on August 8, 2018.

The members of the Panel of Experts included Prof. Suri Ratnapala, Prof. Austin Pulle, Prof. A.M Navaratna Bandara, N. Selvakkumaran, Prof. Camena Gunaratne, Prof. Kapila Perera, Suren Fernando, Niran Ankatell, Asoka Gunawardena and Chamindry Saparamadu. They were appointed based on nominations from different political parties in the Steering Committee.

The Steering Committee had conducted about 80 meetings since its first meeting on April 5, 2016.


Add new comment