Madhusanka riding high | Daily News

Madhusanka riding high

Kalana Madhushanka (Seethawaka National School)
Kalana Madhushanka (Seethawaka National School)

Kalana Madhusanka skipper of Seethawaka National School Avissawella took the spotlight this week by becoming the first batsman to pass the 1000 runs milestone this season in the Under-19 schools cricket season.

Right handed batsman Kalana Madhusanka has scored 1161 runs from 10 innings with three double tons and three tons. He is the first batsman to score three double tons in the same season.

Readers Coupon draw No. 5 of the ‘Observer Mobitel School Cricketer took place on Friday. Picture shows Company Secretary Kumudu Gunawardena and DGM Human Capital, Lal Perera selecting the winners. Picture by Saman Mendis

He scored 217 runs against Bandarawela Central, 101 runs against Dehiovita National School, 144 runs against Sri Pragnananda MV Raddoluwa, 209 runs against Hindu College Jaffna, 152 runs against President’s College Maharagama and 274 runs against Gankanda Central.

Kalana is also a useful performer with the ball.

Muditha Lakshan of DS Senanayake College also batted well to score 133 not out.

Muditha Premadasa scored 131 not out for Maliyadeva.

Sohan de Livera of Sri Devananda scored 101 and 74 in both innings.

In another match Lakshitha Rasanjana of Nalanda scored 136 not out against Dharmapala.

With the rains coming down last week the pitches have favoured the bowlers in a big way and Methushan Kumara of DS Senanayake College captured a match bag of ten wickets for 89 runs against Zahira College played in Colombo.

Kumara claimed five wickets in each inning of Zahira College who just managed to avoid an innings defeat.

Muditha Lakshan also of DS Senanayake College shone with the bat and ball.

He first scored an unbeaten 133 and later captured 4 for 23 runs in Zahira’s second innings.

There were also some good bowling figures in the game between Debarawewa NS and Henegama Central played at Henegama.

Pramith Dharshana of Henegama Central claimed six wickets for just 47 runs in the first innings of Debarawewa NS. Later, Samith Wijenayake claimed five for 19 runs for Henegama in the second innings of Debarawewa NS.

Mauyra Sri Lakshan also bowled well for Debarawewa to capture six for 14 runs and Chathura Jayanath claimed four for 15 for Debarawewa against Henegama.

Mohamed Yasir of Madena Central, Madawala Bazaar captured 6 for 44 in the first innings of Ananda Central Elpitiya.

Chamindu Wijesinghe of Nalanda College claimed 5 for 38 against Dharmapala Pannipitiya at Pannipitiya.

Dhanuka Nimhana of Mahamana College, Colombo captured 6 for 29 against Maris Stella in their drawn encounter.

Eshitha Gimhana of St. Thomas’ Bandarawela took 5/35 against Dharmadutha, Badulla.

Kavindu Maduranga of Nalanda Boys School in Minuwangoda bowled best to claim 6 for just 19 runs against Madampe Central.

Viranga Yeshan of Carey College took 5 for 23 and 5 for 35 in the two innings against Siddhartha Balapitiya.

Supun Gedaragoda of Sri Sumangala Kandy claimed 5 for 26 against Sandalanka Central in Kandy.

Heshan Milaksha captured 5 for just 16 runs and helped Sri Devananda beat Tissa Central Kalutara.

In the same encounter Heshan Uvinda of Tissa Central captured 7 for 60 runs.. Kosala Ravindu also of Tissa Central took 6 for 63 runs but could not prevent his side from losing.

Shashika Thiwanka of Ananda Maithriya Central Balangoda took 5 for 45 against Badulla Central.

Jaffna Central beat Hindu Kokuvil by an innings thanks to penetrative bowling feats by T. Vithushan who took 4 for 7 and A. Nithushan who claimed 3 for 5 in the two innings of Hindu Kokuvil.

Dinesh Kumara of Hindu Kokuvil also bowled well to take 6 for 66.

Vishwa Didulana of Moratu Vidyalaya captured 5 for 60 runs against St. Joseph’s Vaz Wennappuwa.

Arosha Madushan (6/24) and Dulanjana Hettiarachchi (5/42) of Bandaranaike Central bowled best in their drawn game against St. Mary’s Chilaw.

Kavinda Ishwara of Siri Piyarathana MV Padukka took 8 wickets for 113 runs against St. John’s Jaffna.

M. Abinash of St. John’s Jaffna captured 5 for 33 against Royal Panadura.

Kavishka Senadheera of Trinity took 6 for 26 runs against St. Anne’s College Kurunegala at Asgiriya.

Shehan Karunaratne of Ibbagamuwa Central captured 6 for 17 in their encounter against Vijitha Central Dickwella.

Lakshitha Dilshan of CWW Kannangara Colombo returned best bowling figures of the week with 7 wickets for just 7 runs in their encounter against Dehiowita NS.

Dilshan Arabegedara claimed 7 for 22 for Sri Rahula Katugastota against DS Senanayake NS Ampara while Nimnaka Jayathilake of St. Anthony’s Katugastota claimed 5 for 14.

Murfin Abinash of St. John’s Jaffna bowled well to capture 5 for 28 and 5 for 78 in the match. 


Add new comment