Druvinka and Kasuni win Ritzbury Junior National Squash titles | Daily News


Druvinka and Kasuni win Ritzbury Junior National Squash titles

The Ritzbury powered 29th Ritzbury Junior National Squash Championship held in partnership with Sri Lanka Squash (SLS) at the Sugathadasa Stadium Courts concluded recently on a high note.

Druvinka Perera of Royal College and Kasuni Gunawardhna of Vishaka Vidyalaya were adjudged the Junior National Boys and Girls Player of 2018 respectively. E. A Nevidu Lakamal of D.S. Senanayake College was awarded the Most Promising Junior Player (Boys) and Chanithma Sineli of Sirimavo Bandaranaike College was awarded the Most Promising Junior Player (Girls) for 2018.

Over 300 players from 27 leading Schools’ including the top ranked junior players participated. The championship was worked off in Under 9, 11, 13, 15, 17 and 19 age groups in addition to Novices events for Under 11, 15 and 19 with the aim of attracting new entrants to the game.

Supporting the tournament for the 11th consecutive year also heralds Ritzbury’s deep commitment towards the development and promotion of the sport countrywide.

Nilupul de Silva, General Manager Marketing, CBL Foods International (Pvt) Ltd, said, “I would like to congratulate all participants for the high quality matches played during the tournament. Ritzbury’s initiative and continued partnership with squash for over a decade has helped to provide a serious platform to young upcoming players in the country.”


Girls – Under-9: Champion D.M. Methnuki B Samaranayake, Runner-up M. Liyanya Rajapakse

Under -11: Champion A Gunasekara, Runner-up K.S Silva

Under-13: Champion V.S. Chanithma Sinaly, Runner-up R.I Wood

Under-15: Champion Y.V Kuruppu, Runner-up V. S. Chanithma Sinaly

Under-17: Champion Sameera Deen, Runner-up Y.V Kuruppu

Under-19: Champion Kasuni Gunawardane, Runner-up Sameera Deen

Boys – Under-9: Champion R.Y Siriwardena, Runner-up Kaveen Kohombange

Under-11: Champion M Rilwan, Runner-up M.A. Shehara A Dias.

Under-13: Champion J.S Prematillake, Runner-up S Dias

Under-15: Champion D.H.T Randina, Runner-up E.A. Nevindu Lakman.

Under-17: Champion MD Wood, Runner-up M. Ilham F. Asmone.

Under-19: Champion Druvinka Perera, Runner-up M Hakeem


Boys – U-11: Champion Ranuka S.B Pilapitiya, Runner-up Rupakkumara Mahowshayan

Under-15: Champion R.R Ahamed, Runner-up P.O.B Kiridena

Girls – Under-11: Champion W.P.M Wickramasinghe, Runner-up S.T.Y.Mevna Serasinghe

Under-15: Champion A.M Dhanapala, Runner-up W.N.Deelani Wijayasekara 

Visit Kapruka.com Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment