Navy – Army will be anybody’s game | Daily News

Navy – Army will be anybody’s game

Thilina Weerasinghe (Captain - Navy SC)-Upul Abeyratne (Captain - Army SC)
Thilina Weerasinghe (Captain - Navy SC)-Upul Abeyratne (Captain - Army SC)

Navy sports club which scored a sensational 43-25 win against Air Force sports club last week will go all out to give the same performance to beat Army sports club in their Dialog ‘A’ Division League first round rugby match at Air Force grounds, Ratmalana today. Kick of will be at 4.00pm.

Navy Sports Club forwards along with their speedy three quarters gave a superb performance against the airmen last week and the running rugby they carried out has been excellent. Hence they will have to come up with the same performance if they hope to overcome the soldiers today. Todate they have played four matches and won two with Air Force and Police Sports Club (24-23) while losing against CR & FC (22-28) and Havelocks (18-22).

Meanwhile the Army lads scored a shock 24-18 win against formidable CH and FC in their first round game played at Police Park last week. They have played four matches and won two against the soldiers and Air Force (29-21) while losing to Havies (12-23) and Kandy Sports Club (10-38). All in all another terrific tussle for supremacy can be expected today and going by the performance of the two teams it won’t be a surprise if Navy sports club emerge victorious today.

Army SC ( Probable Team) : Aravinda Karunathilake, N. Ranasinghe, Sugath Nanayakkara, D. Adikaram, Nalan Premanath, P. Kumara, Upul Abeyratne (captain), Danuka Wijethilake, Mohamed Risvi, Ashan Bandara, J. Janaka, Kasun Maduranga, S. Bulathsinhala, M. Nuwan, Gayan Salinda

Navy SC (Probable Team)

Kasun de Silva, Amith Gunasinghe, Charith Silva, Nirosh Perera, Gavin Siegertz, Adeesha Weeratunga, Gihan Perera, Radeesha Seneviratne, Richie Dharmapala, Mohamed Abzal, Buddhika Piyaratne, Mushin Faleel, Thanuja Malimbada, Chatura Seneviratne, Thilina Weerasinghe (Captain), Head coach : Mothilal Jayathilake, Asst Coach: Dev Anand


Add new comment