CRTA celebrates 100th anniversary | Daily News

CRTA celebrates 100th anniversary

The Association’s Centennial Celebration Ceremony begins November 27

The Colombo Rubber Traders’ Association (CRTA) of the Ceylon Chamber of Commerce, which represents the interest of Sri Lanka’s Rubber Industry, was inaugurated on November 27, 1918.

The Association celebrates its 100th anniversary on November 27, 2018 and will hold the Centennial Celebration Ceremony which begins on November 27 at 9.30am at the Ceylon Chamber, with the launch of the centennial postage stamp followed by a special rubber auction. Thereafter, on November 30, a reception will be held at Galle Face Hotel Colombo.

Ranjith Perera

During the reception, a rare work of art depicting “100 years of Rubber Tapping” a once in a life time trophy painting will be sold by an American Auction – the proceeds of which will be channeled towards a worthy charity identified by the industry. The painting is the work of Ranjith Perera renowned artist who himself has been a part of the Rubber Industry for more than 20 years.

Once a young doodler at his early stages of life, Ranjith Perera discovered the inborn talent hidden within him with the guidance of Nadine David, a student of David Paynter.

Today Ranjith is a professional painter who expresses himself through the visual language of art. His work on oils and charcoal have been internationally acclaimed by artists/collectors such as Thomas Bunn and Sarah Jane Szikora.

His work has an essence of culture unwrapped, and life drawings are his passion. The auctioning of his masterpiece will be held in commemoration of the CRTA’s 100th anniversary.

“The CRTA looks forward to this Centennial Celebration in honour of all its achievements over the years, and we expect that the association will continue its contribution of strengthening and playing a pivotal role in Sri Lanka’s Rubber Industry. We welcome all stakeholders of the industry to join the Gala Dinner Celebration as we mark this key milestone,” said Richard Jansz, Chairman of the Centennial Celebration Committee.


Add new comment