Gazette announces deposits for candidates | Daily News


General Election 2019

Gazette announces deposits for candidates

A gazette announcing the deposits from nominated candidates from Political Parties and Independent Groups for electoral districts was issued yesterday.

The gazette was issued under Section 16 of the Parliamentary Elections Act NO. 1 of 1981.

The Government Agent/District Secretary of Jaffna will be the Returning officer for the Jaffna Electoral District which comprises the Jaffna and Killinochchi Administrative Districts, while the Government Agent /District Secretary of the Vavuniya District will be the Returning Officer of the Vanni Electoral District which comprises the Mannar, Vavuniya and Mullaitivu Administrative Districts.

The Government Agent/ District Secretary of the Ampara Administrative District will be the Returning Officer of the Digamadulla Electoral District.

The Additional District Secretary (Development) of the Kandy Administrative District will be Returning Officer of the Mahanuwara Electoral District.

The Government Agents/ Districts Secretaries of the remaining administrative districts will be the returning officers of the respective electoral districts. The gazette further said that an Independent Group shall, between the date of the publication of the notice of the holding of the election and the submission of the nomination paper of that group, deposit in legal tender with the returning officer, Rs. 2,000 in respect of each candidate nominated by such group, on a working weekday, during office hours. 

Visit Sri Lanka's Largest online shop. Over 125,000 unique categories such as Fresh Flowers, Cakes, Food, Jewllery, Childrens Toys and other Sri Lankan e-commerce categories. Low delivery cost to most cities here and free delivery in Colombo.

Add new comment