Eight SLFP electoral organisers appointed | Daily News

Eight SLFP electoral organisers appointed

President Maithripala Sirisena yesterday appointed eight new Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) electoral organisers by removing the electoral organisers who failed to support the party’s reorganisation drive, SLFP General Secretary Prof. Rohana Lakshman Piyadasa said.

Prof. Piyadasa added that eight SLFP organisers representing the SLFP 15 Group, lost their organisership as they had failed to support the party’s reorganising drive by establishing electoral organisations in their respective areas.

He said that new organisers were appointed to five districts including Ratnapura, Kurunegala and Colombo.

 They received their appointment letters from the President last evening.

Piyadasa added that electoral organisers should actively get involved in the Party’s reorganising process. “Establishing electoral organisations (Pradeshiya Balamandala) at electoral level is a part of this reorganising process and all electoral organisers should extend their fullest cooperation to the party reorganisation drive to achieve success. Eight Parliamentarians representing the 15 Group were expelled from the post of organisers for failing to form Pradeshiya Balamandalaya (Electoral Organisations) as part of the reorganisation drive.

Therefore, Parliamentarians Susil Premajayantha, W.D.J Seneviratne, Anura Priyadarshana Yapa, Laksman Yapa Abeywardana, Chandima Weerakkodi and three others lost their electoral organisorships. “So far, more than 150 SLFP Pradeshiya Balamandala have been established countrywide. Establishing Pradeshiya Balamandala is important so as to strengthen the party and to go to the next elections” he added.

When asked whether the SLFP hopes to go to the next elections by forming a broad alliance with the United National Party (UNP),Piyadasa said that such a decision has not been taken as yet.

The party is being strengthened to face the forthcoming elections, including the Provincial Council Elections to be held in January.


Add new comment