MAS reign supreme bagging many titles | Daily News
35th Mercantile annual athletic championships:

MAS reign supreme bagging many titles

Champion MAS Holdings athletes with their team Manager Rajiva Wijetunge.
Champion MAS Holdings athletes with their team Manager Rajiva Wijetunge.

MAS Holdings reigned supreme winning many titles and emerged overall champions with a total of 693 points while Sri Lanka Telecom won the overall second place obtaining 290 points when the 35th Mercantile Annual Athletic Championships concluded at the Sugathadasa Stadium recently. Sampath Bank (202 points), SriLankan Airlines (134 points) and Airport & Aviation Service (128 points) claimed overall third to fifth places.

Mas Holdings won men’s, women’s, Masters Novices (men and women), Master Championship (men and women) and Masters (men and women) overall champion titles and dominated the meet in all categories. Sri Lanka Telecom secured both men’s and women’s overall runner-up positions.

Sachith Nilakshana Perera of NDB Bank who created a new meet record in men’s 200M event with a timing of 21.6secs was adjudged the men’s Best Athlete while G.H. P. Kalpani Ginimella of Noratel International (Pvt)Ltd. who set up a new meet record of 5.14M in women’s long jump event was picked as the women’s Best Athlete.

List of Best Athlete award winners:

Over 55 Women: Rani Chithrani Soysa

- Sri Lanka Telecom Group

Over 55 Men: K. P. M. Fernando

- Srilankan Airlines

Over 50 Women: K Priyanganie Pathirana

- Sri Lanka Telecom Group

Over 50 Men: L. D Samarathunga

- The Gateway Hotel Airport Garden Colombo

Over 45 Women: ILIK Gunathilaka - Mas Holding

Over 45 Men: H J Sampath De Z Siriwardena

- Airport & Aviation Services (SL) LTD

Over 40 Women: A. S. P. De Silva

- Srilankan Airlines

Over 40 Men: Indika Gamlath

- Colombo Dock Yard PLC

Over 35 Women: Pramesha Fernando

- David Pieris Group of Companies

Over 35 Men: S. A. C. P Gunarathna

- MAS Holdings

Over 30 Women: I P G Indumathi Karunathilaka

- MAS Holdings

Over 30 Men: M. W. V. R Nadeera Viyanage

- MAS Holdings

Women’s: W. M. P. N Kumari - MAS Holdings

Men’s: Sachith Nilakasha Perera - NDB Bank PLC

Novices Women’s: G. H. P. Kalpani Ginimella

- Noratel International (Pvt) Ltd

Novices Men’s: P D G L Wikramasingha

- MAS Holdings


Add new comment