‘Opposition National List SLFP MPs should resign’ | Daily News

‘Opposition National List SLFP MPs should resign’

Sri Lanka Freedom Party Young Professional’s Association (SLFPYPA) Executive Member Rajika Kodithuwakku yesterday stressed that the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) National List MPs who left the Government recently and took their seats in the Opposition in Parliament, should resign.

He was addressing the media yesterday at the SLFP Headquarters.

Kodithuwakku said the President gave seven out of the 12 allocated National List seats to SLFP candidates who lost in the General Election held in August 2015 expecting their collaboration to continue his tasks. SLFP National List MPs who ignored the President should resign from their MP posts, he said.

Kodituwakku also stressed that Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka should resign from the Ministerial post since he has no ethical right to hold that position while criticizing the President.

“Before making such statements, Field Marshal should recall the past. President Maithripala Sirisena is the person who granted full Presidential pardon to Sarath Fonseka and promoted him to the rank of Field Marshal,” he said. He added that President Sirisena is the most eligible candidate for the Presidential Election to be held in 2020.

“President Sirisena has already fulfilled 90 percent of the pledges made to the public during the Presidential election campaign,” he added. Kodithuwakku said there is no need to cut the powers vested with the Executive Presidency further or abolish the Executive Presidency since the mandate was given to slash certain powers and the President has already done that.

SLFPYPA Executive Member Malik Perera was also present.


There is 1 Comment


Add new comment