NCM against all SLFP MPs who voted against PM, if won’t quit | Daily News

NCM against all SLFP MPs who voted against PM, if won’t quit

UNP backbenchers have decided to bring in a No-confidence motion (NCM) against all 16 SLFP MPs who voted against the Prime Minister, if they fail to resign or are not removed from the ruling coalition.

On the night of April 4, a victorious UNP had 33 UNP backbenchers handing over a letter to the Prime Minister, asking that SLFP Ministers who voted against him be removed from the Cabinet.

On April 7, they handed over a No-Confidence Motion against the six SLFP Cabinet ministers and Deputy Speaker Thilanga Sumathipala.

The Department of Government Information thereafter in a statement clarified that the Prime Minister had asked that the backbenchers withdraw their NCM against the SLFPers as it was not a party decision. The statement further noted that a decision on it would be made at the UNP Group meeting.

“At the UNP Working Group and Parliamentary Group meeting, we all decided that we should bring in the NCM against all 16 SLFPers together,” UNP MP Ashu Marasinghe said speaking to the Daily News yesterday.

He added that the Premier had only asked that they hold back on the NCM and that he did not ask them to withdraw it.

“We hear that the 16 SLFPers want to resign from the government and that the decision will be made at their Central Committee meeting today (9). So if that happens, we will not need to bring in a NCM,” the MP further explained.

The SLFPers who voted against the PM are; Susil Premajayantha, Dayasiri Jayasekara, Dilan Perera, John Seneviratne, Lakshman Wasantha Perera, Dr.Sudarshani Fernandopulle, Tharanath Basnayake, Susantha Punchinilame, Anura Yapa, S B Dissanayake, Lakshman Yapa Abeywardena, Chandima Weerakkody, Anuradha Jayaratne, T.B Ekanayake and Sumedha Jayasena. 


Add new comment

Or log in with...