Over 180 Local Govt. hung councils | Daily News

Over 180 Local Govt. hung councils

Last Saturday’s Local Government elections have resulted in over 180 Local Governments having hung councils with no party winning a clear majority.

Whilst the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) was able to secure victory in 239 Local Governments,followed by the United National Party (UNP) with 41, Tamil National Alliance with 34 and the United People’s Freedom Alliance (UPFA) and the Sri Lanka Freedom Party (SLFP) jointly securing 10 - the parties have not been able to win a 50 percent or more majority to run many of these councils.

This unprecedented electoral pattern has resulted in hung Local Governments across the country for the first time in the country’s history.

These Local Government authorities which span across the country include some of the main bodies in every district such as the: Kurunegala Municipal Council, Matara Municipal Council, Kalutara Urban Council, Kataragama Pradeshiya Sabha, Polonnaruwa Municipal Council, Nuwara Eliya Pradeshiya Sabha, Mannar Urban Council, Matale Municipal Council, Vavuniya Urban Council, Balangoda Urban Council, Nallur Pradeshiya Sabha, Attanagalla Pradeshiya Sabha, Ja-Ela Pradeshiya Sabha, Kelaniya Pradeshiya Sabha, Negombo Municipal Council, Kandy Municipal Council, Dehiwela-Mt Lavinia Municipal Council, Trincomalee Urban Council, Badulla Municipal Council, Poonakary Pradeshiya Sabha, Anuradhapura Municipal Council, Batticaloa Municipal Council, Kegalle Urban Council, Chilaw Urban Council, Potuvil Pradeshiya Sabha, Galle Municipal Council and Hambantota Municipal Council.

The Local Authorities Elections (Amendment) Act No. 22 of 2012 Section 66B, decrees that any recognised political party or independent group which has obtained 50 percent or more of the total number of seats in local authority, the Commissioner will call upon its secretary or leader to declare who the Mayor and Deputy Mayor of the local authority

Secretary to the Ministry of Local Government and Provincial Councils H.T. Kamal Pathmasiri observed that when the Local Councils convene on March 6, the parties would have to show a clear majority to the Provincial Commissioner in order to appoint a Mayor, Chairman and Deputy Mayor.

“The person or party who shows that he has majority support will be given the post. Thus the parties will have to come to an understanding by then,” he said.

The failure of a single party or coalition to secure a clear majority would result in many of the projects, budgets and plans drawn up by one party being defeated by the other, resulting in stagnation in many of our localities.

The government is yet to decide on how power would be shared at Local Government level.


Add new comment