Chief Engineer Mechanical clash with Chief Engineer Ways & Works in final | Daily News
Railway General Manager’s Trophy cricket

Chief Engineer Mechanical clash with Chief Engineer Ways & Works in final

The Chief Engineer (Mechanical) team led by Tharanga Ferdinando will meet Chief Engineer (Ways & Works) team led by W K Silva at the final of the inter department 25-over league cricket tournament conducted by the Railway Sports Club. The final will commence at 1PM on February 12 at the Railway grounds and winners will carry away the Railway General Manager Challenge Trophy.

The match for third place will commence at 9AM on the same day. Eight teams namely Chief Engineer (Ways & Works), Chief Engineer (Mechanical), Chief Engineer (Motive Power), Chief Engineer (Signals & Telecommunication), Staion Master’s, Railway head Quarters, Railway Guards and Railway Security Service played in the tournament. Chief Engineer Mechanical defeated Chief Engineer Signals while Chief Engineer Way & Works team defeated Station Master’s team to qualify for the final.

Railway General Manager S M Abeywickrema will be the chief guest while Commissioner General of Prisons Nishan Dhanasinghe will be the guest of honor at the awards distribution.


* CE (Signals & Telecommunication) vs CE (Mechanical) - CE Mechanical won by 7 wickets

CE (Signals & Telecommunication) 163/9 in 25 overs (L Witharana 48, D Anuradha 38, S Madhusanka 38, S Krishantha 3/37, S Madusanka 3/25

CE (Mechanical) 172/3 in 20.4 overs (Suranga Perera 79, Nuwan Rathnayaka 45)

* CE (Ways & Works) vs Station Masters - CE (Ways & Works) won by 15 runs

CE (Ways & Works) 206/9 in 25 overs (Nalin Roshan 65, Hasitha Perera 54, H M S Chamara 29, S A B Dayarathna 4/40, W C A de Silva 2/27)

Station Masters 191/9 in 25 overs (A D Egodapitiya 71, C Abeysiri 28, W Kahawita 25, W K de Silva 4/22, D Maliyarathne 2/28)


Add new comment