Five Pohottuwa petitions dismissed | Daily News

Five Pohottuwa petitions dismissed

The Supreme Court yesterday dismissed five writ petitions filed by the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) or the Pohottuwa party.

The party challenged the Election Commission’s decision to reject nomination papers for the Panadura and Weligama Urban Councils, Agalawatta Pradeshiya Sabha, Mahiyangana Pradeshiya Sabha and the Thirappane Pradeshiya Sabha.

The three-judge-bench of the Supreme Court comprising Justices Buwaneka Aluvihare, K.T. Chitrasiri and Vijith Malalgoda dismissed the petitions citing that there is no reason to grant relief on merit.

The writ petition filed by SLPP in respect of Maharagama Urban Council was also dismissed by Supreme Court last week.

The nomination papers handed by the SLPP in respect of Panadura Urban Council were rejected on the basis of a clerical mistake of non-insertion of a date and the place of attestation of the signature of the Secretary of the SLPP, in terms of section 28 (5) of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance.

The petitioners including SLPP Secretary Sagara Kariyawasam had cited , District Returning Officers, Election Commission Chairman Mahinda Deshapriya and two other members of Election Commission, SLFP General Secretary Duminda Dissanayake, UNP General Secretary Kabir Hasheem, JVP General Secretary Tilvin Silva and several others as respondents.

President’s Counsel Ali Sabry with Senior Counsel Kanishka Vitharana appeared for the petitioners.

Deputy Solicitor General Viveka Siriwardena appeared for the Election Commission. President’s Counsel Chandaka Jayasundara with counsel Pulasthi Rupasinghe and Mehran Careem appeared for the UPFA General Secretary. 


Add new comment

Or log in with...