Muthuthanthri to play for Auckland rugby 7s team | Daily News

Muthuthanthri to play for Auckland rugby 7s team

Former Thomian and Havelocks flanker Sudarshana Muthuthanthri who is also fondly known as “Muthu” among the rugby loving public in the

country has acheived a rare feat of getting selected to represent one of

the top provincial sides Auckland in the New Zealand ‘A’ division

sevens rugby tournament.

Speaking exclusively to Daily News, Asanga Seneviratne the present president of the Sri Lanka Rugby (SLR), who himself is an ex Thomian rugby player said “This is one of the biggest moments in our rugby’s history.

Muthu has opened the door for others to follow and brought great honour to our country. As the first Sri lankan to represent a top Provincial side in New Zealand , Sri Lanka Rugby wishes him the Very Best and will continue to support his progress.

He have given us all great hope, that nothing is impossible and to see him go from a young man playing at S’ Thomas’ College Mount Lavinia to the National team and now to New Zealand Provincial representation, is simply outstanding” concluded Seneviratne.

Muthuthantri led the Sri Lanka national sevens rugby team to become overall fourth place in this years Asian rugby Sevens series.

Speaking further about Muthuthantris acheivement, High Performance Director Inthi Marikar said

“This is really great, considering him getting selected to play for New Zealands largest province with the largest rugby player pool. He acheived this simply due to the right attitude and work ethic. I hope this would encorage others to follow “Muthus” path in the future and being available for our international 7s programme” said Marikar.

Insidentally Muthu is the first Sri Lankan rugby player ever to acheive this feat and will play his first game for Auckland today in New Zealand under the captainsy of All Blacks sevens star Rocky Khan.


The full 12 member Auckland squad is as follows, Saleisi Rayasi, Seb Visini, Sudarshana Muthuthantri, Rocky Khan (Captain), Lemeki Namoa, Sam Livingston, Ignasio Costha, Sam Shearer, Lisati Milo-Harris, Aj Lam, Nico Costa, Matt Storm 


Add new comment