Six SLPP petitions over nomination rejections fixed for January 23 | Daily News

Six SLPP petitions over nomination rejections fixed for January 23

Six writ petitions filed by Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) regarding rejection of its nominations in respect of six local government institutions were yesterday fixed for support on January 23 by the Supreme Court.

When the petitions came up before Supreme Court, the three-judge-bench comprising Justice Sisira de Abrew, Justice K.T. Chitrasiri and Justice Vijith K. Malalgoda, the court was informed that the respondents were yet to receive notices.

In respect of Maharagama Urban Council, Weligama Urban Council, Panadura Urban Council, Mahiyangana Pradeshiya Sabha, Agalawatta Pradeshiya Sabha and Thirappane Pradeshiya Sabha, the SLPP secretary Sagara Kariyawasam is seeking an order in the nature of writ of Mandamus directing the Returning Officers appointed for the relevant local government authorities to accept the nomination paper delivered to the Election Officer by the authorised agent of the SLPP for the election of members to these local government institutions.

The SLPP is also seeking an Interim Order restraining the Election Commission from taking further steps under the provisions of the Local Authorities Elections Ordinance to proceed with holding the election to these local government institutions.

The petitioners had cited, district returning officers, Election Commission Chairman Mahinda Deshapriya and two other members of Election Commission, SLFP General Secretary Duminda Dissanayake, UNP General Secretary Kabir Hasheem, JVP General Secretary Tilvin Silva and several others as respondents.


Add new comment