Govt. will strictly comply with election laws: PM | Page 3 | Daily News

Govt. will strictly comply with election laws: PM

Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe signing the proposed criteria for media
Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe signing the proposed criteria for media

The Yahapalana Government will strictly comply with all election laws at the upcoming Local Government Elections 2018, Prime Minister Ranil Wickremesinghe said yesterday.

Premier Wickremesinghe made this observation at the signing of the proposed criteria for media for a free and fair election. The event was held at Temple Trees yesterday morning.

Prime Minister Wickremesinghe said the government began New Year 2018 with signing the proposed criteria for media which will soon be tabled in Parliament.

“As a government, we are dedicated to abide by the law. We will comply with all election rules at the upcoming elections. It is an achievement of this government to introduce a new electoral system to the country as well,” he said.

The criteria for media is introduced to ensure the impartiality of media by the strict compliance of guidelines.

He pointed out that the new system allows voters to elect a candidate from their own electorate and it also creates space for a 25 percent female representation as well.

“This new electoral system, whereby a candidate is not elected although a large number of votes are received by a party, allows electing a candidate on a ratio basis,” he pointed out.

“We will apply the new electoral system this time as a part of good governance,” Premier Wickremesinghe said.

The Election Commission published 32 criteria to the media, through a gazette notification on December 4 for which the Cabinet approval was granted.

The guidelines have been approved by the Cabinet of Ministers and Parliament’s approval is sought in order to make the document legitimate. All media divisions will be bound by the criteria and it is their responsibility and duty to abide by them.

Minister Vajira Abeywardena, Minister Sagala Ratnayaka, Minister Rauf Hakeem, Minister Mano Ganeshan, State Minister Palitha Range Bandara, Minister Field Marshal Sarath Fonseka and Prime Minister’s Secretary Saman Ekanayake also participated.


Add new comment

Or log in with...