It was an error of judgement - Gurusinha on Shanaka’s ball tampering | Daily News

It was an error of judgement - Gurusinha on Shanaka’s ball tampering

NAGPUR, Sunday – Sri Lanka cricket manager Asanka Gurusinha put it down to “an error of judgement” the ball tampering charge that was slapped on fast bowling all-rounder Dasun Shanaka at the end of the second day of the ongoing second Test being played here.

Shanaka was found guilty of tampering with the ball during the Indian innings and was fined 75 percent of his match fee by ICC match referee David Boon.

“It is actually an error of judgement in Dasun’s part. Just one over it happened. None of the team members knew that and it wasn’t planned or anything,” said Gurusinha answering questions posed by the media against Shanaka’s action.

“Dasun is very remorseful about what happened. He takes full responsibility for that. It wasn’t frustration or anything that he did it. The senior players have spoken to him. He needs support. He is a young kid and it his third Test match. The team has got discipline guidelines and he has to follow that.

I don’t want to go into details. We had a chat with the match referee. We have seen all of that (video). The best thing for the team is to let it go.” - ST


 

Add new comment

Or log in with...