Uma Oya project Ministerial Subcommittee recommendations to be implemented | Daily News

Uma Oya project Ministerial Subcommittee recommendations to be implemented


Recommendations submitted by the Ministerial Subcommittee appointed to resolve issues faced by individuals affected by the Uma Oya Multipurpose Project were approved by the Cabinet Ministers today.

The Cabinet Ministers ordered to implement the suggested recommendations with immediate effect.

Following are the approved recommendations:

  • Construction of six large scale underground wells in suitable places after conducting a proper study
  • To implement a special programme to provide water tanks to individuals who haven’t received water tanks, within the next two weeks
  • Transfer 20 tractor bowsers of the Home Affairs Ministry to the Badulla District Secretary to aid the water distribution process
  • Accelerate the process of paying compensation for damaged properties
  • Improve the efficiency of the National Building Research Institute by establishing a special unit
  • Provide Rs. 100 million to the respective Provincial Council to rehabilitate rural roads in affected areas
  • To strengthen ‘Jana Sahan’ Secretariat which is already established to provide relief
  • Review the progress of funds by 2018 budget, to accelerate the construction of the proposed water supply scheme in Bandarawela
  • To release Rs. 100 million allocated to construct the affected small reservoirs.
  • Grant the ownership of lands identified for resettlement for families through Bandarawela Divisional Secretary with immediate effect
  • To provide additional financial allocations required to rehabilitate affected schools
  • To grant a two year concessionary period to pay housing and agricultural loan instalments
  • Implement a special alternative livelihood development plan in affected areas
  • To seal the water leak in the tunnel by the Iranian Company
  • Re-consideration of future excavation of the project only on recommendations made by International Experts and a Domestic Committee of experts.

The Ministerial Subcommittee comprises of Fisheries and Aquatic Resources Development Minister and State Minister of Mahaweli Development Mahinda Amaraweera, Megapolis and Western Development Minister Patali Champika Ranwaka and Irrigation and Water Management Minister Vijith Vijayamuny Soysa.


Add new comment