No Lankans in Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 | Daily News

No Lankans in Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017

The ICC today announced the Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017, which includes players from five of the eight participating sides, with Pakistan’s Sarfraz Ahmed as captain.

The side was selected by a jury of cricket experts, which included former captains Michael Atherton of England, India’s Sourav Ganguly, Ramiz Raja of Pakistan as well as Lawrence Booth (Editor, Wisden Almanack and cricket writer, The Mail) and Julian Guyer (cricket correspondent, Agence France-Presse), with ICC General Manager – Cricket, Geoff Allardice, as chairman.

The jury was tasked with picking a balanced side on the basis of performances in the tournament. Statistics were used, but were not the sole basis for selection. The side includes four Pakistanis, three Indians, three Englishmen and one Bangladeshi, with Kane Williamson of New Zealand as 12th man.

Dhawan and Hassan had already won the Golden Bat and Gold Ball trophies for finishing as the most successful batsman and bowler, respectively, while Tamim was selected after driving Bangladesh to its maiden semi-final in a major ICC event. Pakistan’s Fakhar Zaman was picked as Dhawan’s opening partner after he aggregated 252 runs in four matches at a strike-rate of 113, following scores of 31 against South Africa, 50 against Sri Lanka, 57 against England in the semi-final and 114 against India in the final.

Sarfraz was chosen as the captain following his inspirational leadership during the 18-day tournament that was the cornerstone of his team’s 180-run victory over India in front of a full house.

Pakistan had started disastrously when it suffered a 124-run thrashing at the hands of India, before it bounced back to defeat South Africa by 19 runs, Sri Lanka by three wickets and England in the semi-final by eight wickets.

The Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 (in batting order)

i) Shikhar Dhawan (India) (338 runs),

ii) Fakhar Zaman (Pakistan) 252 runs),

iii) Tamim Iqbal (Bangladesh) (293 runs),

iv) Virat Kohli (India) (258 runs),

v) Joe Root (England) (258 runs),

vi) Ben Stokes (England) (184 runs and 3 wickets),

vii) Sarfraz Ahmed (Pakistan) (captain) (wicket keeper) (76 runs and 9 dismissals),

viii) Adil Rashid (England) (7 wickets),

ix) Junaid Khan (Pakistan) (8 wickets),

x) Bhuvneshwar Kumar (India) (7 wickets)

xi) Hassan Ali (Pakistan) (13 wickets),

xii) Kane Williamson (New Zealand (12th) (244 runs)


Add new comment

Or log in with...