Dharmasoka take on Sri Devananda | Daily News

Dharmasoka take on Sri Devananda

Dharmasoka College
Dharmasoka College

Sri Devananda College

 50th Battle of the Blues:

Dharmasoka College Ambalangoda will clash against Sri Devananda College Ambalangoda in the 50th ‘Battle of the Blues’ to be played today and on Sunday at De Soysa Stadium Moratuwa.

This encounter was started in 1963. The match was abandoned in 1967. It was not played in 1968, 1969, 1970 and 2014. Dharmasoka Ambalangoda has won 10 matches and Sri Devananda one.

Dharmasoka last won in 2013 (awarded) under Yohan de Silva and Sri Devananda’s only win was in 1966 under N.U. Amaradasa.

The highest individual score stands to the credit of opener and Sri Lanka cap Upul Tharanga who made 169 against Sri Devananda in 2004. Chamal Rupasinghe (100) is the only centurion for Sri Devananda in their history.

The best bowling feat of the series is by paceman S. Osman who took all 10 wickets for 29 runs in an innings in 1974 for Dharmasoka. Ranjith Priyantha (present match referee SLC) took 7 wickets for 37 runs against Dharmasoka. The best bowling in a match is P. Milton’s 12 wickets for 82 runs in 1985. Gayan Sirisoma (present Premier cricketer) took 11 wickets for 106 runs against Sri Devananda in 2001.

Fourth year coloursman Ushan Imantha will lead Dharmasoka and fourth year coloursman Harshajith Rushan will be his deputy.

Fifth year coloursman Amindu Udara Mendis will captain Sri Devananda and fourth year coloursman Sachindu Sandeepana will be his assistant.

This season Dharmasoka Ambalangoda played 14 matches (division 1) and won 2 against Gurukula College Kelaniya and Anuradhapura Central. They lost to Dharmaraja Kandy, S. Thomas’ Mt. Lavinia and Richmond Galle. All the other matches were drawn. Dharmasoka qualified for the quarterfinals of 2-day tournament as runner up of their group. They advanced to the quarterfinal of the limited overs tournament.

Ravindu Rashantha scored more than 800 runs with 3 centuries. Kavindu Nadeeshan took more than 70 wickets. Kaveesh Kumara scored over 700 runs. Dinuka Dilshan scored 580 runs and took more than 20 wickets. Skipper Ushan Imantha scored more than 400 runs and took 40 wickets. Harshajith Rushan scored over 650 runs. Kasun Madhuranga more than 550 and Nimesh Mendis scored 300 runs and took 33 wickets.

Sri Devananda Ambalangoda played 13 matches (divison 11) and won 3 matches against Kegalu Vidyalaya, Kingswood College Kandy and Karandeniya Central College. Other matches were drawn. Sri Devananda advanced to the quarterfinal round of inter-schools division two 2-day tournament and they were runner-up in division two limited overs tournament.

Last year’s captain Chathura Milan scored more than 650 runs with a century and took 32 wickets for the season. Kavindu Shohan scored more than 600 runs, skipper Amindu Udara Mendis 512 run with 2 half centuries, Samith Madhushan more than 400 runs and Sachindu Uddeepana more than 350 runs. In the bowling Charith Rukshan has taken 41 wickets and Imesh Madhushanka 28 wickets.



Dharmasoka College: Ushan Imantha (Captain), Harshajith Rushan (Vice Captain), Kaveesh Kumara, Kasun Madhuranga, Nimesh Mendis, Dinuka Dilshan, Lasith Kumara, Ravindu Rashantha, Kavindu Nadeeshan, Subash Lasanga, Sachin Sangeeth, Lohan de Zoysa, Vishwa Sajee, Chanaka Karunarathne, Akila Mendis, Rayan Reeshan, Isuru Anushka (Coach), Ajith Premalal (Master in charge), Hasitha Keshara Wettimuni (Principal).

Sri Devananda College: Amindu Udara Mendis (Captain), Sachindu Uddeepana (Vice Captain), Chathura Milan, Kavindu Sohan, Kushan Randika, Charith Rukshan, Nimesh Sathsara, Kavindu Rajapaksha, Anjana Kaushan, Dasun Dhananjaya, Samith Madushan, Imesh Maduranga, Vihanga Madubash, Praveen Avishka, Charith Chinthaka, Heshan Milaksha, Vikum Udara, Sajila Sankalpa, M.U.J. de Silva (Principal), Suraj Sanjeewa De Silva (Master In Charge and Head Coach), Sagara Dhananjaya (Assistant Coach)



Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Or log in with...