Singer Cup U-15 Div. 1 Cricket:Eighty one teams line up in 11 groups | Daily News

Singer Cup U-15 Div. 1 Cricket:Eighty one teams line up in 11 groups

Singer Trophy’ Under 15 division 1 inter schools cricket tournament will be start next month (May) with 81 teams lined up in 11 groups.

The tournament will be conducted by Sri Lanka Schools Cricket Association with Singer Sri Lanka PLC. sponsorship.

A new format has been introduced and a match will confine to one day with Six (6) hours and twenty (20) minutes. Minimum of 95 overs shal be bowled. No team must be allowed to bat more than 65 overs.

Nalanda College Colombo was last year champion and St. Sebastian’s College Moratuwa was runner-up.

Last year Div. two champions, St. Joseph’s College, Wattala and semi finalist of division two Kelani Vidyalaya promoted to division one from division two.

Zahira College (A) Colombo and Susamayawardhane MV Colombo demoted to division two from division one this season.

First round matches (81 teams) will be played on a league basis in 11 groups. 40 teams will be qualified to second round.

Second round too will play on league basis in 8 groups. Champions and runner-up teams in every group will be qualified to pre - quarters. One day limited over matches will be played quarter finals onward.

The groups -


Group ‘A’ - Mahanama College (A) Colombo, Asoka Vidyalaya (A) Colombo, Lumbini College (A) Colombo, Basilica College Ragama, Ananda College (A) Colombo, St. John’s College Panadura, Tissa Central College Kalutara, St. Joseph Vaz College Wennappuwa

Group ‘B’ – St. Anthony’s College Wattala, President’s College (A) Maharagama, St. Benedict’s College (A) Kotahena, Royal College (A) Colombo, De La Salle College Colombo, Isipathana College (A) Colombo, De Mazenod College (A) Kandana, St. Xavier’s College Maravila

Group ‘C’ – Sri Sumangala College Panadura, Ananda Shastralaya Kotte, S. Thomas’ College (A) Mt. Lavinia, Dharmapala Colege (A) Pannipitiya, Sri Chandrajothi MMV Yakkala, St. Thomas College Kotte, Wesley College (A) Colombo

Group ‘D’ – Royal College Panadura, Nalanda College (A) Colombo, Piliyandala Central College, Carey College (A) Colombo, Prince of Wales College (A) Moratuwa, Dharmapala College Kottawa, Siri Piyarathna MMV Padukka

Group ‘E’ - Gurukula College Kelaniya, D.S.Senanayake College (A) Colombo, Moratu Vidyalaya, Bandaranayake MMV Gampaha, Thurstan College (A) Colombo, St. Joseph’s College Wattala, President’s College (A) Kotte

Group ‘F’ – St. John’s College (A) Nugegoda, St. Sebastian’s College (A) Moratuwa, C.W.W.Kannangara MV Colombo, St. Peter’s College (A) Colombo, Sri Jayawardhanapura MV Kotte, Kelani Vidyalaya, St. Mary’s College Chilaw

Group ‘G’ - Holy Cross Colege Kalutara, Kalutara Vidyalaya, St. Joseph’s College (A) Colombo, Sri Pragnananda MV Raddoluwa, Veluwana Vidyalaya Colombo, S.De.S. Jayasinghe MMV Dehiwala, Maris Stella College Negombo,

Group ‘H’ – Maliyadeva College (A) Kurunegala, St. Sylvester’s College Kandy, Vidyartha College Kandy, Ibbagamuwa Central College, Maliyadeva Model School Kurunegala, Sandalanka Central College, Trinity College (A) Kandy

Group ‘J’ – St. Thomas College (A) Matale, Kingswood College Kandy, St. Anne’s College Kurunegala, St. Anthony’s College (A) Kandy, Royal College Polonnaruwa, Kegalu Vidyalaya, St. Mary’s College Kegalle, Dharmaraja College (A) Kandy

Group ‘K’ – Rahula College Matara, St. Thomas College Matara, Vidyaloka College Galle, Sri Devananda College Ambalangoda, St. Servatius College Matara, Debarawewa National School, Mahinda College Galle, Devapathiraja College Rathgama

Group ‘L’ - Richmond College Galle, P.De S. Kularatne MV Ambalangoda, Karandeniya Central College, Revatha College Balapitiya, St. Aloysius College Galle, Amarasooriya College Meepawala, Dharmasoka College Ambalangoda.

- YK


Add new comment

Or log in with...