111th Battle of the Maroons between Kingswood & Dharmaraja : Kandy’s oldest cricketing schools clash today | Daily News

111th Battle of the Maroons between Kingswood & Dharmaraja : Kandy’s oldest cricketing schools clash today

Kingswood College cricket team
Kingswood College cricket team

Dharmaraja College cricket team    

The Kingswood College-Dharmaraja College cricket encounter is the oldest in the central hills being played for 110 years and tagged as the “Battle of the Maroons”. Both schools have a rich history and tradition in the game.

Over the course of its history, the encounter has developed a reputation as two of the top cricketing schools in Kandy. Both schools consistently manage to punch above its weight, which is testament to the passion with which the game is played.

Kingswood is led by Avishla Chandrasiri, a fifth year player who has scored over 600 runs with a century. Vimukthi Wijesiriwardena the vice-captain of the team has captured 65 wickets and has best bowling figures of 13 wickets against St. Sylvester’s, Kandy. Yasodh Kavinda, a left-hand opening batsman has scored 400 runs. Janith Tennakoon, Ganidu Kamburugamuwa are two third year players. Hasitha Navaratne, Rangana Ratnayake, Amila Jayaweera, Saumya Prabash, Dulin Wijenarayana, Deegaya Bandara, Hasitha Jayampath, Sajith Samarasinghe and Binura Rajapakse are all second year players. Dananjaya Maduranga, Vinuka Pussitiya, Kasun Gasitha,Kasun Madhawa, Mahindula Ediriweera, Uthpala Jayalath, Dananjaya Madhawa are freshers. Kingswoodians have won matches on first innings against PDS Kularatne, Ambalangoda, St. Sylvester’s, Kandy, and one outright against Thaksila, Horana. Their matches against St. Anthony’s Katugastota, St. Sebastian’s, Moratuwa, Dharmaloka, Kelaniya and St. John’s Panadura ended in draws. They lost outright to Devananda, Ambalangoda. Kingswood coach is Indika Fernando.

Dharmaraja is led by Deshan Gunasinghe, a sixth year player who has scored over 900 runs including 1 century and 6 half centuries. He has won the College ‘Dagoba’ for cricket. Niwantha Herath, a right hand batsman and left arm medium pace bowler has scored over 800 runs including a century against Ananda College, Colombo. He has also won the college ‘Dagoba’. Gihan Witharana another fourth year player and an off spinner has taken 53 wickets during the season. His best bowling figures is 8 for 124 against Richmond, Galle. Kavinda Thilakaratne, Bawantha Hulangamuwa are two third year players, Rukman Dissanayake, Kasun Gunawardena, Chathuranga Aludeniya are second year players. Navinda Dilshan, Dulaj Bandara, Sathintha Dissanayake, Udayantha Amarakoon, Chethiya Ekanayake, Shamil Muhandiram, Lakshitha Pannala, Upendra Warnakulasuriya, Yasitha Samamraratne, Isuru Dayananda, and Mithula Gayashantha are freshers.

Rajans have won outright against Dharmasoka, Ambalangoda, Dharmapala, Pannipitiya, lost on first innings to Zahira, Colombo, St. Sebastian’s Moratuwa, St. Sylvester’s Kandy, Ananda College Colombo. St. Peter’s, Colombo, St. Mary’s Kegalle, Nalanda, Colombo, lost outright to Trinity, Kandy and Richmond, Galle. The match against Mahinda College ended in a draw due to rain. Rajans are coached by Senaka Dissanayake.

Out of the 110 games played the Rajans are well ahead in the tally winning 35 matches while Kingswood has registered just 19 victories. The Rajans last win was in 2015 under Tharusha Weragoda and Kingswoodians last win was in 1958 when C Maurice Fernando captained. The highest individual score in the series was recorded by Senaka Dissanayake of Dharmaraja College who made 200 in the 1983 big match played at Asgiriya, Kandy; he is the present Dharmaraja College coach. For Kingswood it was Clifford Ratnavibushana who scored the highest when he made 167 in the 1959 big match played at Lakeview, Kandy.

Today if the weather gods relent batsmen are expected to dominate. In this aspect the luck of the coin will go a long way in deciding the outcome of this most looked forward to cricket match. 


Add new comment