Thikshila de Silva on uncapped player in T20 squad

Thikshila de Silva
Thikshila de Silva

Former Mahinda College captain Thikshila de Silva is the only newcomer in the 15-member Sri Lanka squad named for the three-match Twenty20 International series against South Africa at Centurion on January 20, at Johannesburg on January 22 and Cape Town on January 25.

The 23-year-old is a hard hitting left-hander and bowls at right-arm fast-medium. He represents Chilaw Marians CC in the Premier tournament.

An SLC media release states that Dhanushka Gunathilaka, Seekkuge Prasanna, Niroshan Dickwella, Asela Gunaratne, Sachith Pathirana, Lakshan Sandakan and Nuwan Kulasekara are scheduled to fly out to South Africa today.

Apart from these players skipper Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal, Suranga Lakmal, Kusal Mendis, Upul Tharanga and Dhananjaya de Silva will remain in South Africa to make up the T-20 squad.

Sri Lanka T-20 squad: Angelo Mathews (captain), Dinesh Chandimal (vice-captain), Danushka Gunathilaka, Seekkuge Prasanna, Niroshan Dickwella, Suranga Lakmal, Nuwan Pradeep, Isuru Udana, Kusal Mendis, Dhananjaya de Silva, Asela Gunaratne, Sachith Pathirana, Lakshan Sandakan, Thikshila de Silva, Nuwan Kulasekara.

Officials: Ranjith Fernando – Manager, Graham Ford - Head Coach, Nick Lee – Trainer, Champaka Ramanayake - Fast Bowling Coach, Ajantha Wattegama – Physio, Manoj Abeywickrama - Fielding Coach, Lal Thamel – Masseur, Sriram Somayajula - Performance Analyst.

There is 1 Comment

He richly deserve this call. Hard work is finally rewarded. Wish all the best.


Add new comment

This question is for testing whether or not you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Or log in with...