Manatunga, NPC Chairman? : Three names proposed | Daily News

Manatunga, NPC Chairman? : Three names proposed

 The Constitutional Council has nominated three names for the post of Chairman of the National Police Commission which fell vacant following the resignation of Prof. Siri Hettige. Parliamentary sources said P.H. Manatunga was on the top of the three names which were nominated in order of their eligibility. Attorney-at-Law Manatunga, who is a Commission member, has been appointed Acting Chairman following the resignation of Prof. Hettige last Thursday.

The Constitutional Council chaired by Speaker Karu Jayasuriya met at the Parliamentary Complex on Monday. The nominated names were sent for the approval of President Maithripala Sirisena.

Issuing a press release on Monday the Speaker’s Media Division said the Constitutional Council also nominated names to fill an existing vacancy for a member of the Public Service Commission.

The Constitutional Council had also discussed about providing permanent office facilities for the independent commissions and directed Council Member and Megapolis and Western Development Minister Patali Champika Ranawaka to take necessary steps in that regard. 


Add new comment

Or log in with...