Four new meet records on opening day | Daily News

Four new meet records on opening day

Napthalie Jason of Arunodaya College Jaffna on his way to establishing a new record in the boys’ under 18 pole vault event at the Sir John Tarbat Athletic Meet which began at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium Diyagama yesterday. Picture by Ranjith Asanka.

Four new meet records were set up and one equalled on the first day of the

Ritzbury powered 86th Sir John Tarbet Senior Athletics Championship at the Mahinda Rajapaksa Stadium in Diyagama, Homagama yesterday. The first record was set up by Arunodaya College, Jaffna’s Napthali Jason who cleared 4.56 metres in the Under-18 Boys Pole Vault final which was followed by the new meet record for the Boys Under-20 Discus Throw final with Malinda Madushanka of St Rita’s College, Thaldeka throwing a distance of 42.72 metres.

The third new meet record for the day was established by Richmond College Galle’s Irusha Malinda, who leapt 7.17 metres in the Boys Under-18 Long Jump final. The final meet record was created by Ushan Thiwanka of Maris Stella College, Negombo in the Boys Under-20 High Jump final when he cleared 2.17 metres.

Rahula College, Matara equalled the 4x100m relay record when they won the event in a time of 42.5 seconds.

Several final events are scheduled for today, the second day of the three-day meet organized by the Sri Lanka Schools Athletics Association and sponsored by Ritzbury, main sponsors for the fifth consecutive year.

This championship is serving as the Selection Trial for the forthcoming South Asian Junior Athletics Championship to be held on October 19 and 20 in Lucknow, India. Seventeen athletes were awarded colours on day one:


Under-20 4x100m: Trinity College, Kandy 42.8 secs.

Under-20 High Jump: Ushan Th wanka (Maris Stella College, Negombo) 2.17 metres and RR Dhammika (Kularatne) 2.10 metres.

Under-20 Long Jump: Nipun Kaldera (Loyolla College, Daluwakotuwa) 7.38 metres and PG Dhananjaya (S Joseph Vaz College, Wennappuwa) 7.16 metres.

Under-18 Long Jump: Ishan Dimuthu (Richmond College, Galle) 7.03 metres and Shehan Visanperuma (Lyceum International College, Wattala) 6.96 metres.

Under-18 5000m: DK Prasanthika (Matara CC) 18.34:7 mins

Under-18 Pole Vault: Shehan Lahiru (Maris Stella College, Negombo) 3.90 metres

Under-16 Long Jump: Lasaru Prabodana (Maris Stella College, Negombo) 6.55 metres

Under-16 Triple Jump: Lasaru Prabodana (Maris Stella College, Negombo) 13.44 metres, Sandun Krishantha (Krillawala CC) 13.11 metres and Dillon Ludowyke (St Joseph’s College, Colombo 10) 13.05 metres.


Under-20 200m: Yamani Dulanjali (Ambagamuwa MMV) 24.9 secs

Under-20 Triple Jump: Prabodha Balasooriya (Holy Family Convent,

Wennappuwa) 12.99 metres and TT Thanthirimalage (Maliyadeva BV, Kurunegala) 11.69 metres.

Under-18 High Jump: Randi Himasha Cooray (Gateway International College, Rajagiriya) 1.64 metres. 


Add new comment