National Earth Science Olympiad Contest winners Japan bound | Daily News

National Earth Science Olympiad Contest winners Japan bound

From left: Keishini Navamani (Hillwood College, Kandy), Ashini Kurera (Maliyadeva Girls College, Kurunegala), Amashi Niwarathne (Visakha Vidyalaya, Colombo) and Sasmitha Waidyathilleke (Trinity College, Kandy)  who will leave for Japan.


The Geological Society of Sri Lanka annually organises the National Earth Science Olympiad Competition among Advanced Level students to raise student interest and public awareness on Earth Science education.

The competition tests students’ ability in disciplines such as geology, meteorology, environmental science, geography and astronomy. Winners are awarded with medals and certificates at annual technical sessions of the Geological Society of Sri Lanka. The best four students are sent to the International Earth Science Olympiad Competition. The 2016 winners will participate in the international competition to be held in Mie City, Japan from August 20 to 27. 


Add new comment