Terms of 23 Local Government Bodies end | Daily News

Terms of 23 Local Government Bodies end


Provincial Councils and Local Government Minister Faiszer Musthapha said that the tenure of 23 local government bodies will not be further extended.

The terms of 23 Local Government Bodies ended yesterday. Pradeshiya Sabhas in Muhudubadapattu and Pudukuduirripu are not functioning due to legal actions taking place, the minister said.

Terms of nine LG bodies in the Eastern Province ended on March 17, 2013. Meanwhile, term of Jaffna MC was ended on August 31, 2014.

Terms of 234 LG bodies were extended till May 15, 2015 although their terms were to be ended by March 31, 2015.

Terms of another 65 LG bodies ended on July 31, 2015. The terms of another 21 LG bodies were to be ended by October 16, 2015 and Colombo and Hambantota MCs by October 31. However, terms of the 23 LG bodies were extended till June 30, 2016. Terms of these LG bodies were ended yesterday.

The 23 LG bodies are as follows: Colombo Municipal Council, Dehiwala – Mount Lavinia Municipal Council, Sri Jayawardanapura Kotte Municipal Council, Moratuwa Municipal Council Gampaha Municipal Council, Meegamuwa Municipal Council, Kurunegala Municipal Council, Mahanuwara Municipal Council, Matale Municipal Council, Nuwara Eliya Municipal Council, Badulla Municipal Council, Galle Municipal Council, Matara Municipal Council, Hambantota Municipal Council, Ratnapura Municipal Council, Anuradhapura Municipal Council, Kalmune Municipal Council, Kolonnawa Urban Council, Kotikawatta-Mulleriyawa Pradeshiya Sabha, Kadawathsathara and Gangawatakorale Pradeshiya Sabha, Kundasale Pradeshiya Sabha, Hambantota Pradeshiya Sabha and Suriyawewa Pradeshiya Sabha 

Add new comment